Grrr too much escaping…

It appears to be escaping season again.

I should have spotted the ajar gate (the rope slips and a gap opens) myself but I was in full groggy morning not even drank my cider vinegar let alone coffee moment at a lot before 7am. So Marmite slips out one way (to the girls side) and Dolores and Foxglove slip in with the boys.

Annoyed I feed all the other girls first before opening a gap in the hurdles for Dolores. Who comes back quick as a flash now food is on that side. I leave MArmite and we move him back as we leave for town at 9am. Annoying but like water off a ducks back to us.

Ha!

Always be aware of these little too easy annoying moments.

Before you know it you are walking through the field of an evening when the erie realisation hits you it is….

empty!!!!!!

I ran to the check the gate. Oh yes a gap has slipped open because we have got a little lazy with our gate closing. The gates post has slid to an angle so to open and close the gate we have to lift it quite a lot.

Luckily this post does have a happy ending. I couldn’t see the girls but I had to run back home for help because the cows were right there and they love coming into our field at any open chance. It’s used to be theirs to enjoy and now it is forbidden. We know how that goes.

I went to get the magic white herding sticks and then on second thoughts the bucket with food. The help went on a bike looking for the girls. I came out with the bucket and wands to see Dolores and Millie and Ida and Susie coming up the track.

“Was Dolores in front?” I ask, by any chance.

“Yes!” Came the reply.

Huh. She is a tricksy one that girl.

Leave a Reply

