Sometimes we just need the right language

I only went to Worcester but I could have been to the moon and back.

Marty McGee’s Advanced Camelidynamics course was very dynamic. I love her style of teaching especially how reflective of her own methods she is and how willing to share her thoughts as the course went along. I definitely recommend the course to everyone who owns alpacas or llamas. I left feeling like I had only just scratched the surface but with enough tools to explore and develop at home.

The three top things I have taken away from the course have been the following;

Clicker training! I love clicker training or marker based training. It is very effective stuff. We trained some of the Simply Alpaca alpacas to touch a target for a reward and we trained their chickens too. My only frustration since I’ve been back is that I can’t find my clicker! So I have already been online and ordered some so we can all train alpacas, chickens, geese and rabbits… oh, and I’ll have a go at training the piggies too. Apparently it is pretty much the best way to actually share a good time with animals. Can I be anymore enthusiastic?

Zoopharmacognosy! This is based on the awareness that animals (in the wild) will self medicate. Domesticated animals often don’t have access to all the herbs they may need so we can help by providing a choice of herbs or essential oils for them to chose their own medication! I’m looking forward to reading Caroline Ingrahams new book wen it comes out this summer to discover more.

Last but not at all least- The Science of Behaviour! Wow. It was like finally finding the language to describe what I already believed. The ABC principles are; A. Make the right behaviour easier, B. Behaviour is an action not a label (learn to describe it by what is happening) and C. make the right behaviour rewarding. I may take Susan Friedmans online course Living and Learning with Animals sometime this year.

Altogether a full packed learning experience that I want to do again please.

Leave a Reply

