Vet visit. Someone tell me it wasn’t worse than the last one?

We tried to treat Millies leg wound this weekend ourselves with lots of calendula tincture but she is so flighty and nervous we decided we needed a vet.

It really is true. If the vet is coming everything you can normally manage without blinking suddenly goes horribly wrong.

It must be that alpacas can mind read. I just can’t work out why they won’t accept the positive messages and images I send them. They sure get ‘the vet is coming’ before any sign of the vet.

So today went badly. OK it went pretty good at first except somehow as I got the girls into the shelter I turned to refasten the gate and Millie snuck out past me. SO now I had Millie in the field with the boys. Hiding amongst them no less.

It just got worse after this. I did manage to get Millie into the shelter just as the vet drove up the track. She was totally freaking out though. I got kicked, spat on (by guess who? yes Mrs Spitty pants herself Dolores, although I still love her) and Millie reared up and got me on the forehead. It hurts.

We did manage to get her an injection for the mites so I don’t need to try to treat her legs. Because I won’t be able to without a lot of work. And her wound got blue gunk sprayed on it. And she got some antibiotics to put in her feed for ten days. I have to accept the way to get her better is allopathic. I have tried but her nerves are stopping me from being able to treat her properly.

The injection for the mites works in 24 hours. The blue gunk is a spray and the antibiotics just go in her food.

I will go back to Calendula (maybe using a spray bottle!) soon. And I will treat all the others with the super duper herbals gel as early as the first mite signs appear as it works a treat as long as I put it on a couple of times within a week of each other.

To take something positive out of the experience, yesterday I haltered both Susie and Ida. They were both dreamy and goregous. Take a look at Idas expression. She loves Ttouch. Bless her.

Image

Susie looks a little annoyed but she was super easy. I think she will love going for walks… next week? 🙂

Image

Ida, check out her eyes 🙂

Leave a Reply

