Fencing, fencing, fencing!

I am taking my time planning and building our fencing system, with lots of help building of course. Currently I am stuck trying to find the best wire. The local suppliers like Cornwall Farmers only sell stock fencing up to 80cm. Alpacas need at least 120cm or 4ft. I am relying on the advice of others to plan my fence and here are some of the websites I am using. I am very grateful to their authors for sharing their knowledge with others. These sites are based in the US.

http://webpages.charter.net/alpacaatlantic/2-7fencing.htm this author was very specific about which wire to use which was very helpful.

http://alpacasofmontana.com/catalog.farmsetup.html

I still need to decide on mesh fencing wire or stock fencing. The above websites really recommend not using anything that the alpaca can put their heads through so I’ve learnt how to read those numbers on the fencing.

Leave a Reply

